Users Section
Every Hostaway account has an administrator. This is the account you signed up with Hostaway.
You might like to add users to the Hostaway software for multiple reasons.
Some of these reasons might include:
- You want to limit the view and user rights of your cleaner(s)
- You are managing properties for multiple owners and would like to give them view access to only their listings
- You have someone working for you on the financial part of the business who only needs access to reports and payments
For all these cases, you can use the Users section to create user groups and provide access to individual users. To learn more, please watch this quick video.
Access Permissions
When adding a new user, you can give him/her access to different information. To select the type of permissions the new user will have, please follow the steps below:
- Go to your Hostaway Dashboard > Settings > Users > Add new
- In the Access Permissions section, select between the different options
The user has admin-level access. An admin-level user has the same level of access as the account owner
- Allow access to contact data. Select this option if you want to give access to guest data
- Allow access to guest name. Allows users to see guest names without exposing phone numbers or email addresses. This is useful for external agents and direct-booking workflows that need access to booking notes without full contact details.
- Allow access to nightly calendar rates
- Allow access to Inquiries, requests to book, and cancelled reservations. Select this option to grant the user access to view and manage inquiries, requests to book, and cancelled reservations. Note that the "Reservations" permission must be enabled first before this option can be selected
- Allow access for newly added listings. Every time a new listing is added, this user will have access to that listing by default
- Allow listing tag management. This option will allow users to see all the tags, create new ones, and remove new ones
- Allow access to guest notes. Sometimes channels such as Booking.com may include some financial-related data in the guest notes. If you don't want to share them with this user, untick this option
- Allow access to host notes. If unticked, host notes available in calendar, inbox, and reservation page will not be visible
- Allow access to AI Knowledge Base to give ability to manage listing facts
- Allow access to AI Rules to give ability to manage AI reply rules
- AI CoHost with full financial access. Allow this user to access the AI CoHost chat assistant. It gives access to all financial data on the listings the user can see
- In the subsection Financial Data Permissions, select between the following options:
- Don't allow access to financial data. This user won't be able to see any financial data, including reservation price breakdowns, financial fields, and formulas.
-
Show all data without restriction. All financial fields and formulas will be visible to this user.
- A new checkbox will be shown: Show financial metric in Calendar, Inbox, and Reservations. If you mark it, it will prompt you to select the financial metric you would like to display.
- As the total price (selected by default) may not be useful for some users, the system allows you to choose other formulas that may be useful for that specific user
- In cases where the financial data permission is not enabled for the user, and a formula is still selected from the dropdown, the user will see only the selected formula. You can always change this setting for the whole account from Financial Settings > Formulas > click on the gear symbol > select the formula to display instead of the Total Price.
- Show all data except ... All financial fields and formulas will be visible except the ones you choose to hide here. New fields or formulas will be visible by default.
-
Show only selected data. Only the selected financial fields and formulas will be visible to this user. New fields and formulas will stay hidden unless you add them.
- Select groups and Permission Template
- Select specific permissions - View, Modify, Create, and Delete - for the different sections within the dashboard such as Listing, Reservation, Owner Stays, Calendar, Booking Engine, Financial Reporting, and much more.
- In the top right corner, select whether you want to "Send registration email to the user"
- Save
For Airbnb, Hostaway will show the Airbnb payout when you give the user access to financial data and formulas, or you give access to financial data but no formulas.
The same logic applies to notifications.
If you choose to display a formula, a drop-down menu will prompt you to select the event on which the formula is based:
- Check-in: The result of the formula includes the check-ins within the dates
- Check-out: The result of the formula will include the check-outs within the dates
- Calendar: The result of the formula will include the amount of a selected calendar period
- Reservation: The result of the formula will include the bookings created within a given period
Account Notification Settings - User Permissions
Only the main account owner (superuser) can modify account-level notification settings. While admin users have extensive permissions within the account, they cannot change the main notification preferences that affect the entire account.
What admin users can do:
- Modify their own personal notification settings
- Manage notifications for other non-admin users
What admin users cannot do:
- Change account-wide notification settings
- Modify the main account owner's notification preferences
If you need changes to your account's main notification settings, please contact your account owner.
About Admin-level Access
- When you provide users with admin-level access, those users will have access to all the permissions and listings
- When you provide admin-level access to a user, you will be giving them all permissions and access to all listings
- If you want to remove access to those, you need to remove admin-level access from that user
- Admin-level permissions cannot be changed. To change permissions, uncheck the admin-level permissions box below
- You can use a permission template for faster handling of permissions
Hiding Financial Data in Emails
To prevent financial data (total price and payout sum) from displaying in emails sent to clients regarding reservations, you need to edit the user account settings and turn off access to financial data. Then, you can select the option to only show the gross revenue in these emails.
Learn more about: