Learn how to archive messages in the Hostaway Inbox, when to use archiving, and how it affects conversation visibility.
Automatic Archival
As of October 2025, we automatically archive conversations that:
- Are past the reservation's checkout date
- Have had no new incoming or outgoing messages for 30 days
Archived conversations are automatically unarchived if a new message is received.
This helps ensure a great, performance-wise experience for those using our unified inbox.
How to Archive Messages?
You can archive message threads to hide them from the main Inbox.
To archive a message, please follow the next steps:
- Go to your Hostaway Dashboard > Inbox
- Make sure you are in the Inbox tab
- Select the message or thread you would like to archive
- Click on the Archive icon in the actions bar
- The message will be moved from the Inbox tab to the Archived tab
How to Unarchive Messages?
To unarchive messages, please follow the next steps:
- Go to your Hostaway Dashboard > Inbox
- Make sure you are in the Archived tab
- Select the message or thread you would like to unarchive
- Click on the Unarchive icon in the actions bar
- The conversation will be transferred back to the Inbox
⚠️ IMPORTANT (DISCLAIMER)
Threads will automatically move from archive to inbox if the guest sends a message, but not if the host sends one.
Threads cannot be both archived and snoozed at the same time.
How to Bulk Archive Messages?
To archive messages in bulk, you should follow the next steps:
- Go to your Hostaway Dashboard > Inbox
- In the upper right corner, click on Bulk update
- Choose Archived as the option to mark the message with
- Select the date of the last message sent or received
- Click on Confirm
⚠️ IMPORTANT (DISCLAIMER): Depending on the number of messages to be archived, it can take between a few minutes and a couple of hours.